Tarot Journaling – Use Your Authentic Voice

tarot journalsHello Beautiful Tarot People,

Tarot journaling is a hot topic right now, which is quite exciting for me since its one of my favorite activities. So I thought I would jump in with a couple of my own thoughts about this very fun and rewarding practice.

One of the hardest and most important things that I learned about journaling is that I needed to find and use my own authentic voice when I wrote about the cards.

For a long time I found myself mimicking what I had read in books and filling journal page after journal page with flat recitation.

The end result was that I wasn’t connecting with the cards much better and I experienced quite a bit of frustration. Worst of all I started to get bored of journaling. Then one day I had an Ace of Swords moment and I realized that I needed to stop writing like I was trying to create an academic text and start writing like I was talking to my best friend, which if you are an introvert like me isn’t far from the truth since your journals can easily become your best friends and closest confidants.

Jounal and The High Priestess Card from the Bohemian Gothic Tarot Deck by Baba Studio

Journaling with the High Priestess from the Bohemian Gothic Tarot

So instead of droning on about “The High Priestess is the guardian of wisdom and the keeper of knowledge.” which is true, but pretty bland, I started writing more casually. I scribbled with more freedom and enthusiasm. I took notes about how cards made me feel. I tossed in expletives and exclamations. I associated cards with my own experiences and contemporary symbols. I gushed about the art, or how excited I was when certain cards showed up in my personal readings. I went on diatribes about how aggravating the court cards were or how exasperating it was that I couldn’t figure out why the Five of Pentacles was stalking me. I stopped being afraid of sounding silly. I stopped censoring myself.

I believe that Journaling needs to be that way to be effective. It should offer you freedom, a place to play with ideas and associations and symbols. It should be a joy to do, a glorious adventure. If its not, try something different. Experiment. You will know when you are doing it “right” because it will flow and feel exciting.

Until next time…tarot and journal on. 🙂

5 thoughts on “Tarot Journaling – Use Your Authentic Voice

  1. Great post! I’ve found that journaling is much more effective for me when I just write from the heart. I try not to spend too much time thinking about what I’m going to write. If I just jump right in and start writing, it usually ends up being a lot more personal to me and a lot more helpful in the long run.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I agree with Talkingtarotica. When you start free writing about a card you often amaze yourself with what you’ve put down on the paper. I also love journaling with prompts and it happens that Kelly Ann of the FourQueens has posted some inspiring tarot journaling prompts on her blog. You should definitely check that out.
    And yes as introverts, where would we be without our journals. I’ve had one since I was ten years old 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thanks Ellen,
      It seems like journaling has come up on several tarot blogs that I follow lately. I definitely saw Kelly Ann’s journal prompts and also her post about journaling with the court cards. Brilliant stuff!
      I’ve kept a journal since I was about ten as well. Its one of those things, if its in your bones, you never stop. 🙂
      Congratulations on your puppy by the way, I saw the pictures on your blog, so cute!

      Like

  3. Pingback: A Tarot Journaling “How to” | The Tarot Parlor

Share Your Thoughts

