The Hanged Man and Surviving Family

The Hanged Man from The Tarot Illuminati

The Tarot Illuminati

The Hanged Man has been my touchstone during my holiday visit with my family-of-origin. Family, especially biological family (as opposed to chosen family), has a knack for triggering…well, everything. Shadow stuff, childhood trauma, if it can be triggered, chances are family will do it, whether intentionally or inadvertently. I imagine that is why there are so many family-at-the-holidays movies made. It happens to most everyone and we can all relate.

The Hanged Man represents inactions. Sometimes it’s forced inaction. Sometimes it’s chosen inactions. Focusing on the Hanged Man has helped me keep from reacting when family pushes my buttons or triggers me. That’s not to say I don’t stand up for myself if something happens that is not ok (or that I don’t still react or get triggered), but it allows me to pause and consider where the behaviour is coming from or what the intention behind it is.

Antiquarian Tarot

Antiquarian Tarot

Standing…or hanging in the Hanged Man energy means observing what is going on and trying to understand it from the other person’s perspective. It allows for more mindful analysis of what is going on around you. It gives you the space to decide how you are going to act in response to others. It doesn’t mean that you are helpless or that things are out of your control. Quite the contrary as a matter of fact. You are taking back control from those who are triggering you or making you behave in ways that aren’t consistent with your core values. The physical situation my be out of your control, but your thoughts about the situation and your responses to it are entirely up to you. That is the power of the Hanged Man.

I hope you are all surviving, perhaps even enjoying your holiday, whichever you celebrate and however you celebrate.

Wishing you a beautiful solstice and a blessed Yule.
-Cameron

4 thoughts on “The Hanged Man and Surviving Family

  1. Interesting take on the Hanged Man. I usually read the card as an invitation to do internal work. But it can also mean stillness and not reacting to what’s going on around you as you say here. Instead of Happy Holidays I’m going to wish you Good Luck. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Share Your Thoughts

